The Chinese New Year has been celebrated for over 4,000 years and is one of the most colourful and vibrant events in the calendar.

The date it is celebrated is decided by the Chinese lunar calendar so changes each year but typically falls between January 21st and February 20th.

This year it will be celebrated on Tuesday 5th February.

How is Chinese New Year celebrated?

Chinese New Year is the most significant holiday in the Chinese calendar.

Typically, families will gather for a dinner on New Year’s Eve, which falls on February 4th this year.

The food is most often homemade with multiple dishes, including steamed fish.

Red Chinese Lantern

It is believed eating fish will bring wealth in the new year.

Huge displays of fireworks and firecrackers is, like in many other cultures, a part of welcoming in the New Year.

In addition, the Chinese will take to the streets and perform lion and dragon dances, which is said to bring good luck.

The dance is accompanied by drums and sometimes a street parade.

In traditional Chinese culture a different animal is associated to each lunar year, 2019 being the Year of the Pig.

Black and Brown Pigs on Grassfield during Daytime

What is the Year of the Pig?

The animal chosen for each year is based on Chinese zodiac signs, which moves in 12-year cycles.

Those born in 1959, 1971, 1983, 1995, 2007, and 2019 are represented by Year of the Pig.

According to astrology, your year of birth – and the animal that represents it – says a lot about your personality traits.

Pigs are believed to have beautiful personalities and are blessed with good fortune.

In Chinese culture the animal is the symbol of wealth.

How are the animals decided?

The Chinese zodiac animal signs include the rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, sheep, monkey, rooster, dog and pig.

It was formed according to the Chinese lunar calendar, which also defines the dates of festivals and is used for horoscopes.

The calendar is also referred to as the Lunar, Yin, Xia or the old Chinese calendar.

Which Chinese zodiac animal do you belong to?

The animal changes at the beginning of the Chinese New Year, see which one represent the year you were born:

  • Rat: 2008, 1996, 1984, 1972, 1960
  • Ox: 2009, 1997, 1985, 1973, 1961
  • Tiger: 2010, 1998, 1986, 1974, 1962
  • Rabbit: 2011, 1999, 1987, 1975, 1963
  • Dragon: 2012, 2000, 1988, 1976, 1964
  • Snake: 2013, 2001, 1989, 1977, 1965
  • Horse: 2014, 2002, 1990, 1978, 1966
  • Goat: 2015, 2003, 1991, 1979, 1967
  • Monkey: 2016, 2004, 1992, 1980, 1968
  • Rooster: 2017, 2005, 1993, 1981, 1969
  • Dog: 2006, 1994, 1982, 1970, 1958
  • Pig: 2007, 1995, 1983, 1971, 1959


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here